Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Cosimas Lounge

Welcome to my fabulous little world of writing!

From epic novel to short poem or Doesn’t work doesn’t exist!

Posted on April 20 2014 by Cosima in Column

My dears,

I thought I simply tell you how it went on after taking the first obstacle in writing :)

Back then after finishing my first novel I was like HOORAY, I am the queen of the world, everything’s super, everything’s great, this is what you do from now on regularly…but nearly everything happened nearly totally different ;)

It was a hard, stony way from writing a lot to writing spontaneous short poems but let’s keep it sequentially.

Of course, in the beginning figure skating had grabbed again such a strong hold on me that the first 3 novels of course all played in that kind of sport…and likewise of course they were fanfictions with my heroes from then starring in the main- but also in the supporting roles and I had started to choose songs as the leading motive which became the title of my story.

For saving my honour I maybe should add that soon I reduced the amount of my stories to a normal size. While I didn’t gave the reader half a chance for own fantasy by completely to the detail formulated thoughts, situations and other circumstances in the first novel the follow-up was only a good one-third of the first one :)

Nevertheless, I must admit that until today I still have problems with character handicaps which means when my vocabulary is limited right from the start and I have to write a good story with a restricted amount of letters.

A frightening example is one of my short-stories which I wrote down just like it entered my mind, as usually and while counting the letters there were nearly 20.000 characters too much :( I was up the creek without a paddle because in my opinion the story was absolutely worthy taking part in a competition but what should I do with the characters I had too much? And what did a newbie like I was back then? Right, I did the WRONG thing :( I cut everywhere I could in my story until it fit with the demanded amount of characters…but meanwhile I didn’t fit with my own story anymore :( But the deadline was near and so I sent it on its way though there wasn’t much left of the charm it had to me before :( Of course it came how it had to come…a few weeks later I received the negative reply :( But also stuff like that you have to face and you learn for the future :)

I try to get back to the actual point ;)

The score so far was: first novel done…CHECK! Writing shorter novels…CHECK! Never again trying to cut a short-story from a novel…CHECK! But now I ran into the next level of a seemingly invincible obstacle in my way: Write a poem! HUH???? Poem? Me?? NEVER!! A poem has to rhyme in best of all cases, for heavens sake, I CAN’T DO THAT!!!

The problem was the time. I had found a competition with the topic environment and you could even choose if you wanted to write a short-story (of course again with that unholy limitation of characters) or a poem.

Well, there isn’t much of a choice if you refuse writing a story due to a lack of time, is it?! ;) So I sat down and hatched my very first poem :)

But the sweetest reward was the reply that this from necessity born piece of work had made it into the anthology and so I was very proud of my very first publication which landed 6 years after my first steps as a writer on my bibliography :)

Ever since then many of my poems made it into anthologies and this is kind of surreal sometimes when I think of how I refused writing poems at the beginning…oh well, actually I just stayed true to my principles because at the start I also thought that I couldn’t write a whole novel ;)

And this showed me, at last concerning writing experiments, one sure recognition…DOESN’T WORK DOESN’T EXIST!!! :)

Thank you so much for your valued attention, my dear friends :)

Take care & feel embraced by your Cosima :)

From epic novel to short poem or Doesn’t work doesn’t exist!
Comment on this post